Isais Paid A Visit …

We’re recovering here from the blast of tropical storm Isais. It didn’t dump all that much rain on Long island, but wow, the winds. Although they weren’t hurricane speed, apparently they came close.
 
Trees and power lines are down everywhere. I’m typing this from the local Starbucks, one of the few places in our area with both power and a working Internet connection. The power company tells me I won’t have power until Friday afternoon! We lost power yesterday, Tuesday, at about 2pm.
 
Photo 1, credit: Grant Parpan, Riverhead News-Review

Riverhead Isais Augest 4, 2020

Photo 2: Grumpy Cat. That’s how I felt when they told me I would be without power for four days. <grumble>

Grumpy Cat

2 thoughts on “Isais Paid A Visit …

  1. People don’t associate hurricanes with Long Island unless they live there! You reminded me of living in Uniondale in the late 50s or early 60s when my dad was stationed at what was then Mitchell Field. I would have been in the 4th or 5th grade.

    I don’t remember the name of the storm but it arrived on a school day with a forecast of some rain and wind. Out the classroom windows we saw the clouds darkening and the wind whipping the flags around crazily. Midmorning they sent us home. Liberated, I happily began my unaccompanied 20 minute walk home marvelling at the rushing gutters and gyrating trees. When I had to learn into the wind to slowly walk, it was like being in a movie. The rain blasted through my yellow raincoat like it wasn’t there. I was thilled… My mother was not.

    I don’t remember if we lost power. It wasn’t such a necessity back then. I hope you get yours back soon, it’s difficult without it now.

    Good luck and take care.

    • Edward, that is a great story. I can 100% see why you enjoyed that walk. I loved wild days of wind when I was young. As a mother now, I can relate to your mom’s reaction, too.

      It’s hard to believe we took for granted so much less in terms of power and connectivity back then. No cell phones, no computers, no nothing. My family had a black and white tv that only got a few stations. For a phone, we had a party line that we shared with another house.

      I like the options better now — but it is a problem when we lose power!

Leave a comment